The Least Expensive Pedal I own.

Ladies and Gentlemen–
I give you the Danelectro Tunamelt Tremolo!!!

And it looks hot too!! Its also 3/4 the size of a Boss pedal, which is nice for those tight to fit boards.

And it looks hot too!! Its also 3/4 the size of a Boss pedal, which is nice for those "tight to fit" boards.


I believe these things are up to $40 right about now. So worth it– they kick butt over all but 3 Tremolos I have played, but it is over $100 less than those models. I can’t complain. For endurance, I have been using it for over 10 years. Still works great.

For example: I now use a Seymour Duncan Shape Shifter tap-trem. Its about $150. But its HUGE! For those times when I need a tremolo, but also need other effects to fit on the board too— back to the Dano!

And what is weird was the week I drafted this post, Karl posted something about that too….

And for those of you who are new to guitardom, and are looking for a good, but less expensive effect that doesn’t suck- give ‘er a try!

3 Responses

  1. you mentioned 3 tremolos that are better than this but you only listed one (Shape Shifter), what are the other 2?

    i think it sounds good enough to have its place in the board. but for me, there are couple of things that keeps me away from these Danelectro pedals …

    – can’t get past the way it looks (colors & shapes)
    – i’m not a big/heavy person, but i feel like it’s going to get smashed once i step on it

    btw, i can’t believe how enthusiastic the guy on the demo was!🙂

  2. Heh, thanks Rhoy–
    The other two: the Fulltone and Empress trems. I think it kicked everything else I tried.
    The color and shape really add to my board i think, but I like that weird stuff. Also, it looks small and cheap, but its built pretty well. The base on mine is solid medal, only the top portion is plastic.
    I picked up this thing when we needed a trem sound for a youth ralley in 1995. I saw a cheap trem that did the job. Only after did I realize the sound quality. Its been on my board for near 10 years and I have never had a problem!

    and yeah, that guy looked like he needed to quit smokin’ that wacky tabbacky’.

  3. I could never part with my Keeley Modded TR-2. Sure – a lot more money, but still a small footprint, has the cool volume pot and it’s a Boss after all — it ain’t breaking.

Leave a Reply

