Malinoski Art Guitar demo

Hello faithful readers!! I’ve been a bit busy lately, but have discovered some pretty neat things during this time. I’m hoping to have a few video demos in the near future, starting right now!

A few months ago I stumbled on: http://www.petermalinoskiart.com/ and was very impressed by some very unusual, but pretty guitars. This guy is a true artist with wood and then took that art form to building guitars. I love the carefully sculpted contours and the overall “round” nature- these guitars appeal to the eye inasmuch as they do to the ear. Part of Peter’s philosophy is to create guitars that aren’t the typical mass-produced guitar. He has succeeded! These guitars are their own thing for sure.

I finally have gotten a chance to play one of these awesome guitars. It is truly something different and special. Take a look with me (click on the photo for a larger view):

Not your typical guitar

Yes, even the humbucker covers are wooden!

Pretty-cool Headstock design too!

Neck inlay!

Look at the grain!

For the back... admire the contoured "belly cut."

For those that really, REALLY want to know the insane details on this guitar, they can be found here: Peter Malinoski’s Guitar #58. I just don’t know if my explanation of the details could do it justice. I’m still stuck on the fact that the humbuckers (handwound by the builder) are covered in wood!!

As I’m not really sure how to explain this guitar, I’m simply going to list Pros/Cons as that seems to make more sense to me:

PROS:

  • Basically this guitar has probably the nicest neck carve I have played. Finished in oil, it is smooooth and you can still feel the wood.
  • I really like the playability of the neck.
  • It has a nice, hollow, woody tone to it. You can feel the tone resonating through the guitar’s wood.
  • This guitar was designed for maximum tonage: the 5 way selector switch and push pull knobs give many different usable tones. The switch: 1) Neck Humbucker, 2) Neck and Bridge Humbucker, 3) N and B in Series, 4) N and B in Reverse Phase and 5) Bridge only. Volume Pull-Pot: Splits Coils. Tone Pull Pot: Activates Piezo pickup (an acoustic pickup) under the Bridge. Then you can mix all those options. I really like the Piezo with the neck single coil.
  • The guitar is extremely light weight (particularly when I’m used to LesPauls).
  • The “Belly Cut” is really smooth and the guitar HUGS my body. I really like how comfortable this is to play!
  • It smells good. The body is Cedar, and it really smells good!

CONS:

  • Too many options (haha). I think If I were to keep this guitar I’d put in a 3 way selector switch and leave the coil/piezo push-pull.
  • The push pull and 5 way switch is loud. Live w/gain there were noticeable popping sounds.
  • I only had this problem when playing live: when I really got into the song (aka: “Rocking out”), my right hand/strumming hand started bumping the volume knob- effectively turning myself off. I might recommend putting that back about 1 inch.
  • If you play this at a gig or church- every guitar player will come up to you wanting an explanation of the guitar. I know that’s not a huge con, but I was over an hour late going home the 1 time I played this out!! (much to the chagrin of my wife!)

So what does it sound like? Well, here is my humble recording. I didn’t want to showcase my chops, I wanted to show the tones in this guitar. There is a lot of the same chord work but with switched knobs/settings so you can hear the difference. This is also an idea of my sound/tone and what I believe the typical guitarist plays from week to week. (Yeah, I’m not one of those super-fast shredders or insane jazz players).

Equipment:

Peter Malinoski Art Guitar #58 with various settings –> Hermida Audio Zendrive –> Strymon Brigadier (airy dotted eighth) –> Dr Z Maz Jr NR w/ JJs Tubes (EL84).

Recorded via Apogee ONE through Quicktime.

4 Responses

  1. that’s an unusually good looking guitar but the Maz with the Zen totally distracted me from listening to nuances of the guitar itself! haha🙂

  2. I have a quick question for you. I’m looking into getting an LP. Is there a huge difference in tone between the Epiphone 100 and standard?

  3. @Brandon: I’ll email a better description if you left an email: The 100 is a cheaper model due to less wood, different electronics and biggest difference of all is it has a “bolt-on” neck (which most Teles and Strats have). Your typical LesP has a glued-on neck (which the standard does). By gluing I feel you transfer more vibration up the neck and increase your sustain.
    Overall Epi’s are cheaper versions of the real thing, so be careful when getting a cheaper Epi… (I’m not a gear snob, my Epi LP is KILLER!)
    I would look in the standard range and then slowly plan on upgrading your electronics, then your tuners. If you get a good baseline guitar, with good wood, then after slowly putting in a few bucks over the years you’ll have a custom-guitar that you’ll love.
    Also: Play several of the same guitar– if it is a brick-mortar store, then play 2-3 of the LP standards UNPLUGGED. You want to make sure the neck feels great, the frets are good and that the acoustic tone rings out! If you don’t have that, its not a good guitar.

    Like I said, I’ll send you a few more details. Picking a good, cheap guitar is a coming post of mine. Thanks!

  4. Thanks for the advice! I appreciate it… like you said, I have decided to invest later in the LP standard when I find a good deal. I just didn;t have peace about purchasing the LP 100…

Leave a Reply

